Not as easy as it looks…

Really haven’t had a great deal of time to play with my new Macro lens, just 10 minutes here or there when Charlie (and Erika) allow it. So far I have worked out that macro photography is totally different from not macro photography. I have had quick experiments with tripod and without and close up to very very close up… Haven’t got many good shots to show yet. Actually, none I am really happy with at all!

Some advice I have got though is to use the tripod wherever possible, as the Nikon 105mm is pretty heavy and unless you have a really steady hand you will get blur, especially focusing 1:1. I’ve been using a really big aperture, but was recommended to use around 8. So I’ll give those tips a go next time.

Nice lens though, I like this one. Not really very ‘macro’ but closer up than I can get with a normal lens.

Nikon D90, Nikkor 105mm f/2.8 Micro lens, f/3.2, shutter 1/3200, ISO 200,Exposure setting ‘Cloudy,
Straight off the camera. Hand Held

Not very well composed, if thats the right word. I think I have the focus points all in the wrong place. Maybe a smaller aperture would work better.

Nikon D90, Nikkor 105mm f/2.8 Micro lens, f/10, shutter 1/60, ISO 500,Exposure setting ‘Cloudy,
Straight off the camera. Hand Held

Crap exposure and colour but how good is the detail! You can see just how scaley my skin really is!


Nikon D90, Nikkor 105mm f/2.8 Micro lens, f/10, shutter 1/30, ISO 1000,Exposure setting ‘Cloudy,
Straight off the camera. Hand Held.

~ by Gumboots on November 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
